41 Candidates Elected Unopposed to Rajya Sabha from 12 States: Full List Revealed

Read about the latest developments in the Rajya Sabha elections, where 41 candidates, including Sonia Gandhi and JP Nadda, secured their seats unopposed across 12 states. Get insights into the notable winners and the upcoming polling scenarios.

41 Candidates Elected Unopposed to Rajya Sabha from 12 States
41 Candidates Elected Unopposed to Rajya Sabha from 12 States

New Delhi, Feb 21: In a significant development, 41 candidates have been elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha from 12 states, marking a decisive turn in the Upper House’s composition. Among the notable figures securing their seats without contest are senior Congress leader Sonia Gandhi, BJP chief JP Nadda, Union Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw, diamond baron Govindbhai Dholakia, and Congress turncoat Ashok Chavan.

The elections saw all six candidates from Maharashtra, Bihar, five each from Madhya Pradesh and West Bengal, four from Gujarat, three each from Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Rajasthan, and Odisha, and one each from Uttarakhand, Chhattisgarh, and Haryana, clinching their positions without facing opposition.

The BJP emerged victorious with the highest tally of 20 seats, followed by the Congress with 6, Trinamool Congress with 4, YSR Congress with 3, and smaller shares for RJD, BJD, NCP, Shiv Sena, BRS, and JD(U).

While the unopposed victories solidified the positions of many candidates, in Uttar Pradesh, Karnataka, and Himachal Pradesh, polling remains imminent due to contested seats. Notably, the BJP and Congress are set to vie for positions in these regions, with additional contenders from parties such as the Samajwadi Party in Uttar Pradesh.

The results saw prominent leaders securing their seats, including Sonia Gandhi’s first-time entry into the Rajya Sabha, following the footsteps of her late mother-in-law, Indira Gandhi.

The unopposed victories not only affirm the political landscape but also hint at the strategies and alliances in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. With retirements looming for several incumbents, the stage is set for significant changes in the political dynamics of the Rajya Sabha.

As the nation anticipates the outcomes of the pending polls and prepares for the next phase of governance, the unopposed victories in the Rajya Sabha elections stand as a testament to the evolving political narratives across the states.

Also Read: Sonia Gandhi Elected Unopposed to Rajya Sabha from Rajasthan