Assembly Polls in Arunachal and Sikkim Set for April 19

The Election Commission reveals the schedule for Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim Assembly polls, with voting slated for April 19. Get details on key dates and political dynamics.

Assembly Polls in Arunachal and Sikkim Set for April 19
Assembly Polls in Arunachal and Sikkim Set for April 19

New Delhi, March 16: The Election Commission of India (ECI) has officially unveiled the schedule for the forthcoming Assembly elections in Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim. According to the announcement, the poll notification will be issued on March 20, with the polling date set for April 19.

In a single-phase voting process, the 60-member Arunachal Pradesh Assembly will witness voters exercising their franchise on April 19. Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar disclosed these key dates, highlighting that the counting of votes is scheduled for June 4.

Similarly, the electoral process for the Sikkim Assembly will follow a similar timeline. The election notification for Sikkim Assembly polls will also be issued on March 20, with polling to be conducted concurrently on April 19.

Pema Khandu, representing the Bharatiya Janata Party, currently serves as the Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh, while in Sikkim, Chief Minister Prem Singh Tamang heads the Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM), the ruling party.

Recent political shifts have marked significant changes in Sikkim’s political landscape. After a 25-year reign, the Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF), led by former Chief Minister Pawan Chamling, was defeated by the Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) in a closely contested battle. SKM secured 17 seats, surpassing the 16 seats won by the SDF in the 32-seat legislative assembly.

With both Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim poised for crucial Assembly elections, political dynamics are expected to intensify in the coming weeks. Stay tuned for further updates as the electoral process unfolds.